Everybody’s DNA

Year 2009… Ukraine… Kiev… Ukrainian State University of Finance and International Trade… Second Year of studing in the university…

The first time I heard about marketing…

“Basis of marketing” and “International Marketing” were my favorite modules…

I studied carefully lots of information about customer behavior, marketing channels, marketing planning and of course 4Ps and Marketing DNA.

Later as I was very interested in the “internet” I found job in Internet Company and it was the first time I discovered new to me marketing aspects. All this digital marketing communications, customer relationship management systems, new sales and distribution channels etc.

That was the point from which I understood what I want to do in future. I began searching web for any information that was related somehow to digital marketing. And that was the main reason why I have applied to University of Southampton on Digital Marketing Program.

Marketing in 21st Century module…

I was very excited when I heard from Dr. Bev words “NEW! DNA of Marketing”, well structured, easy understanding lecture…
This entire staff was very interesting for me, especially customer and market insight, Social CRM and predictive analytics.

On my opinion today’s culture is a culture of web space, and today’s marketing is digital. New channels of communication forever changed the way of spreading of information and decision-making by consumers. Therefore, agencies should adjust their services to help its customers in conquering marketing online universe.

I am sure that every professional in his or her field in the agency simply must now be “Digital”. Just because there is no one type of media that have not moved in this direction. I read a lot of opinions in the web about that it is necessary to integrate so-called “the inhabitants of the Internet” in the number of agency staff. I even found an article of Urs Gasser who is Doctor of Harvard’s Berkman Center in which he even invented the term “Digital Natives”.

“By age 20, kids will have spent 20,000 hours online – the same amount of time a professional piano player would have spent practicing” Dr. Urs Gasser

Who are these Digital Natives? Internet is an integral part of their lives, they understand what is going on under the roof of the Web and know how to apply it in the communications, which tool would be most appropriate for the usual consumer Internet space. Of course, it’s not about to hire the boy who spends 80 hours per week playing online games. No! It’s about professionals who are Digital Natives, and working in the departments of planning, creative, accounting, and etc. and will be able to help with the insights that transform agency into innovative organization.

I think this New DNA of Marketing is already incorporated into the DNA of so-called Digital Natives. All you need to do is just give them the freedom to experiment and explore. We work in the business, forcing customers to take risks, respectively, must be willing and ready to do the same for their development.

We are going to work in a business sphere that makes customer to risk, respectively, we should be willing and ready to do the same for their development.

References:

What Companies Should Know About Digital Natives

Leave a Reply

